Doctoral Program Buddhist Studies
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

People

Barchi_photo

Francesco Barchi (Sinology)

Francesco Barchi received his M.A. in Oriental Languages and Culture from the Sapienza University of Rome in 2016, defending a thesis on the language and translation techniques in the Chinese version of the Vajracchedikā-prājñāpāramitā-sūtra by Dharmagupta. His dissertation project focuses on the treatment of Sanskrit’s "patient-oriented" constructions in the Chinese translations of the Buddhist sūtras.

 baums

Stefan Baums (Indology)

Stefan Baums teaches Buddhist literature in Sanskrit, Pali and Gāndhārī and is lead researcher of the Buddhist Manuscripts from Gandhāra project. Before joining the University of Munich, he worked as a visiting professor at the University of California, Berkeley. His interests include Buddhist philology and epigraphy, the development of Buddhist hermeneutics, Sanskrit poetic and narrative literature, and ancient South Asian history.

Michael von Brück (Religious Studies)

Michael von Brück is emeritus professor of religious studies. His areas of scholarly interest cover a wide field, ranging from the Gelugpa school of Tibetan Buddhism and Chan/Zen Buddhism to Hinduism and interreligious dialogue. Before joining LMU he was a visiting professor at the University of Madras and taught as Professor of Religious Studies at the University of Regensburg. Today he is honorary Professor at the Catholic-Theological Private University Linz. Besides his scholarly activities he is also a Zen and yoga teacher.

debrux grossesbild

Hélène de Brux (Buddhist Studies)

Hélène de Brux holds an M.A. in Asian Studies from the EPHE, Paris (2017). For her master’s thesis, she worked on the notion of Buddhist “miracles” (prātihārya), mainly focusing on episodes from the Saṅghabhedavastu. She is also interested in the art of the Gandhāran region, as she received a B.A. in art history with a focus on Indian art from the Ecole du Louvre, Paris (2012). She is currently working on her dissertation project about the concept of conversion in Early Buddhist narratives.

FotoJuenChienklein

Juen Chien (Sinology)

Juen received her M.A. in Chinese Literature from National Normal Taiwan University. Her doctoral project is entitled “The Mind and Its Psychic Factors according to the Cheng Wei Shi Lun: An Approach to Buddhist Therapeutic Soteriology”. She uses insights from cognitive theory within the Yogācāra system to examine the therapeutic function of mental factors (caitasika) and further analyze the development of soteriology in the Chinese Yogācāra school.

Jinkyoung Choi 1902

Jinkyoung Choi (Buddhist Studies)

Jinkyoung Choi received her M.A. in Buddhist Studies from Bukkyo University in Kyoto, Japan and graduated from the Doctoral Program in Buddhist Studies and Indology at LMU. Her research interests lie on the early Buddhist Sanskrit literature, Buddhist Sanskrit manuscripts, and Yogācāra Philosophy. Her doctoral research was editing parts of the Gilgit manuscript of the Dīrghāgama. Currently she is a research fellow at LMU, working on the newly discovered Sanskrit manuscript fragments of the Yogācārabhūmi preserved in Nepal, Russia, and Tibet.

choi

Seongho Choi (Buddhist Studies)

He studies the development of Buddhist hermeneutics. His dissertation project focuses on the usage of certain terms, such as artha, nāma and prajñapti, in the meditative manuals of Yogācāra and earlier Buddhist traditions. Before coming to Munich in 2014, Seongho Choi studied Sociology (BA) and Philosophy (BA and MA) at Seoul National University.

Franz-Karl Ehrhard (Tibetology)

As Professor emeritus of Tibetology, his research interests range from the cultural history of Tibetan Buddhism to Himalayan Studies, and include especially Tibetan manuscript and blockprint
traditions. Before lecturing at LMU, he was a Research Fellow at the Lumbini International Institute in Nepal and a visiting professor at the University of Vienna and at Harvard University.

ess

Hans van Ess (Sinology)

As Professor of Sinology, his scholarly interests focus on Chinese philosophy, Confucianism, and Chinese religious thought. He also lectures on Chinese Buddhism, e.g. on Zongmi and on the Dashengqixinlun. From 2007-2009 he held the position of the Vice President of the University of Munich and he is also a member of the renowned Conseil Scientifique Pôle Asie at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of France.

Silke Yasmin Fischer (Indology)

Her teaching and research focuses on Buddhism in Sri Lanka, the popularization of Buddhism and Hinduism, and the construction of meditation and enlightenment from the perspective of cultural studies. Before joining LMU she worked on the research project Virtue in a Cross-Cultural Context financed by the Volkswagen Foundation and as a teacher at the German School in New Delhi.

 

Emanuela Garatti (Buddhist Studies)

Emanuela Garatti holds an MA in Tibetan studies (2012) at INALCO and a MA in classical Chinese studies (2012) from EPHE, Paris. Her PhD research focuses on the intellectual exchanges between Tibet and China during the Imperial period, in particular on the paraphrases and translations in Tibetan manuscripts of Classical Chinese texts and the influence of the Chinese conception of monarchy on the evolution of Tibetan kingship. She is also working on a complete translation of Cefu yuangui on Tibet and on the origin of the Tibetan Empire. Based on a Cotutelle agreement she will receive her PhD at the LMU as well as at the EPHE in Paris.

Hiromi Habata (Indology)

Born in Japan, she studied at the Universities of Hokkaido and Freiburg. Her scholarly inter-ests include Buddhist Sanskrit, manuscripts of Central Asia, and methods of translation of Buddhist texts into Chinese and Tibetan. She is a member of the British Library Sanskrit Fragments Project and is currently working on a critical edition and analysis of the Mahaparinirvana-sutra of the Mahayanists.

Jens-Uwe Hartmann (Indology)

Jens-Uwe Hartmann is Professor emeritus of Indology. A specialist in Sanskrit, his scholarly interest is focused on Buddhist Sanskrit manuscripts, Buddhist canonical literature, and classical poetry. Other fields of interest include contemporary trends in Asian Buddhism and interpretations of Buddhism in the West.

 

Simone Heidegger (Japanese Studies)

Simone Heidegger is the coordinator of the Doctoral Program in Buddhist Studies at LMU. In her research she specializes on women/gender in Japanese Buddhism, 20th-century reform movements in Japanese Shin Buddhism, and approaches of intrareligious criticism. In 2006, she published her PhD thesis on gender issues in contemporary Japanese Shin Buddhism. Before joining LMU, she worked and taught at the Museum of Religions and the Study of Religions Department of Marburg University

Kinadeter_foto

Michael Kinadeter (Japanese Studies)

Michael Kinadeter received his M.A. in Japanese Studies from the LMU. His final thesis was a hermeneutical/philosophical analysis of a Chinese primary source dating back to the fourth century (T 707). His research focuses on East-Asian religions (especially Shinto and Buddhism) and Japanese history. Besides his current dissertation project in the Buddhist Studies Program on the transmission of a central Madhyamika and Sanlun scripture from China and its reception in Japan, he has been working for the Japan Center since 2010 and for the Doctoral Program in Buddhist Studies since 2015.

 Jowita Kramer

Jowita Kramer (Buddhist Studies)

The main focus of Jowita Kramer's research lies on Indian and Tibetan Buddhist philosophy (with particular emphasis on the Yogācāra tradition), aspects of authorship, originality, and intertextuality in Buddhist commentarial literature, and Tibetan biographies. She has held positions at the Universities of California (Berkeley), Oxford, Heidelberg and Göttingen in the past and is currently a research fellow at the LMU.

Martin Lehnert (East Asian Religion and Philosophy)

Martin Lehnert is Professor of East Asian Religion and Philosophy. His research interests range from Esoteric Buddhism to the reception of Sanskrit Buddhist exegesis in Chinese commentarial literature, and include music, ritual and ethics in premodern Asian society as well as gender and religion. Before joining LMU he was a research fellow at the Institute of East Asian Studies at the University of Zurich.

 Maurer

Petra Maurer (Tibetology/Buddhist Studies)

Her scholarly interests range from Tibetan traditional sciences and Buddhism to the cultural history of Tibet, including modern Tibetan history and language. She is currently working in the Central and East Asian Studies Commission of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Munich on the Dictionary of Written Tibetan. Before joining LMU she lectured at Bonn University and worked on research projects sponsored by the DFG.

 

Marc Nürnberger (Sinology)

Marc Nürnberger’s research interests focus on the intellectual history of the middle ages in China, with a special emphasis on Chinese commentarial literature and early Chinese Chan Buddhism. In 2008 he published Shitao’s “Recorded sayings of the Monk Bitter Gourd regarding painting.”

Liudmila Olalde (Buddhist Studies)

Liudmila Olalde graduated in Classical Indology and German Philology from Heidelberg University. Her fields of interest include Buddhist literature in Sanskrit, Pali, and Tibetan, Vedic literature, as well as the creation of digital editions in Indic languages. For her dissertation she is editing and translating four sūtras from the Dīrghāgama manuscript. She is currently working as a research associate at the Specialised Information Service Asia (FID-Asien) at Heidelberg University Library. From 2013 to 2017 she was coordinator of the project “SARIT: Enriching Digital Text Collections in Indology” at the Cluster of Excellence "Asia and Europe" at Heidelberg University.

Serena_bild

Serena Operetto (Buddhist Studies)

She received her M.A. from the University of Naples "L’Orientale" where she also did an internship at the Centre for Buddhist Studies. Her doctoral project is entitled "A research focused on Genshin’s Ichijō yōketsu, its influence on Japanese Medieval Buddhism and its place in the monastic milieu". Her particular area of interest is early and medieval Japanese Buddhism.

 pabstvonohain_constanze

Constanze Pabst von Ohain (Buddhist Studies)

Constanze Pabst von Ohain received her M.A. in Religious Studies, Philosophy and Indology from the LMU Munich in 2011. In her dissertation thesis she is working on visuality and visualising practices in early Yogācāra literature. Other areas of interest include the translation and reception of Buddhism in Western philosophy and the theoretical discourses of modern aesthetics.

Foto Huiting Qiang

Huiting Qiang (Buddhist Studies)

She received her M.A in Ancient Chinese History from Capital Normal University in 2016 with a thesis on Buddhist belief in the early medieval Xiangyang region. She is currently working on a PhD dissertation on the role and status of monks in medieval China.

website_foto4

Andrea Schlosser (Indology)

Her interests include Buddhist literature in Indic languages, writing traditions, and the relationship of texts and visual representations. She is currently a research associate in the project "Buddhist Manuscripts from Gandhara", where her focus lies on early Mahayana texts written in Gandhari. For her dissertation, she is preparing an edition of one of the manuscripts. Before joining LMU, she contributed to the digitization of the Sanskrit fragments of the Berlin Turfan collection in cooperation with the International Dunhuang Project in London.

 johannes-schneider

Johannes Schneider (Indology)

He teaches Indology at the LMU and works on the Tibetan dictionary project of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities. His scholarly interests range from Sanskrit poetry and poetics to Tibetan philology. The main focus of his research is Indo-Tibetan textual studies. His current project deals with Prajñāvarman's Devātiśayastotraṭīkā, a commentary from the Tibetan Buddhist canon. Before joining the LMU he worked at the Philipps-Universität Marburg and the Freie Universität Berlin.

Gleb Sharygin (Buddhist Studies)

Gleb Sharygin studied philosophy, religious studies, psychology of religion and Ancient Indian languages at Moscow State University and the Institute of Oriental Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow). His research interests include the world of thought of Early Buddhism, Ancient Buddhist canonical literature, Ancient Indian contemplative practices and their development, and the interaction and interplay of language, practice and theory that inform and shape the Buddhist practice and its concepts. He is currently working on the Gilgit Dīrgha-āgama texts for his PhD thesis “The Māyājāla-sūtra – a unique text of Early Buddhist Sanskrit Canon. Edition, translation and study”.

sirisawad_klein1

Natchapol Sirisawad (Buddhist Studies)

Natchapol Sirisawad received both his BA in Thai language and literature and his MA in Pali and Sanskrit from the Faculty of Arts, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand. His research interests include Buddhist literature in Pali and Sanskrit, Indian epigraphy and palaeography and the relationship between texts and visual representations. He is currently working on his PhD project on the literary and visual representations of the Mahāprātihāryasūtra in India and Southeast Asia.

Foto minhui tou1

Minhui Tou (Buddhist Studies)

Minhui Tou received her M.A. degree from National Taiwan Normal University (2016). Her M.A. thesis was on Kuiji’s commentary on the “Vimalakīrti –nirdeśa”. Her dissertation project focuses on Sthiramati’s “Seeds” theory and examines how it changed compared to the Yogācāra School.

Foto Tsou2

Yu-Sheng Tsou (Sinology)

Yu-Sheng Tsou received his M.A. in Sinology from LMU Munich. In his dissertation project he focuses on the question of how the relationship of ritual to knowledge, reality and daily life was conceived in Chinese and Japanese esoteric Buddhism, especially in the context of prajñā-practice. He is also interested in poetics.

Klaus Vollmer (Japanese Studies)

His areas of interest include a broad range of subjects in the cultural and social history of Japan, focusing, among other things, on aspects of Buddhism in Japanese society. He has taught and published in particular on issues of “identity” and “marginality.” From 2009 to 2011 he served as Dean of the Faculty of Cultural Studies at LMU and is the initiator of the Doctoral Program in Buddhist Studies

Wang Fang

Fang Wang (Buddhist Studies)

Fang Wang received her MA from Tsinghua University, Beijing. Her main research interest is art history in the ancient Kucha State. She is currently working on a PhD on the Buddha legend murals in the Treppenhöhle.

foto isabella wuerthner

Isabella Würthner (Tibetology)

She received her M.A. in Tibetan and Buddhist Studies from the University of Vienna. Her research interests focus on the medical literature, early history of medicine and the colloquial language of Tibet. Her dissertation project deals with the critical analysis and translation of selected medical texts concerning women’s health care.

 

yelle

Robert A. Yelle (Religious Studies)

Robert Yelle is a scholar of comparative religion whose research uses historical and theoretical approaches to address topics in secularism and secularization, the semiotics of religion, and the relationship of religion to law, politics, and economics. His research has included the mantras or verbal formulas of Hindu Tantric ritual texts. Since 2014 he has been Professor for the Theory and Method of Religious Studies in the Faculty for Philosophy, Philosophy of Science, and Religious Studies at LMU.

Zhai_foto

Yunyao Zhai (Buddhist Studies)

She studied Greek for her Bachelor and first Master’s degree and received an MPhil degree in Buddhist Studies before coming to Munich. Her research interest is early Buddhism and Buddhist scriptures, particularly Gandhāran Buddhism and early Chinese Buddhist translations. Her doctoral dissertation is a critical study of the different versions of the Bhadrakalpikasūtra, with a special focus on the Chinese translation by Dharmarakṣa in the 4th century A.D.

Monika Zin  (Indology)

She studied art history, Indology and dramatics in Krakow and Munich. She has been teaching at the LMU since 1994 and currently teaches at the FU Berlin. She has published on Ajanta, Indian drama and the identifications of Buddhist narrative art in South, South East and Central Asia. Her current projects deal with paintings on the Silk Road and the narrative reliefs from Amaravati and Kanaganahalli.

Promotionsstudiengang Buddhismus-Studien
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Kollegium

Barchi_photo

Francesco Barchi (Sinologie)

Francesco Barchi erhielt seinen M.A. in Orientalische Sprachen und Kultur von der Sapienza Universität in Rom im Jahr 2016. Seine Arbeit behandelte Sprache und Übersetzungstechnik von Dharmaguptas chinesischer Übersetzung des Vajracchedikā-prājñāpāramitā-sūtra. Sein Dissertationsprojekt ist der Behandlung "passivischer" Satzkonstruktionen des Sanskrit in den chinesischen Übersetzungen buddhistischer Sutren gewidmet.

baums Stefan Baums (Indologie)

Stefan Baums unterrichtet buddhistische Literatur in Sanskrit, Pāli und Gāndhārī und ist Arbeitsstellenleiter des Projekts „Buddhistische Handschriften aus Gandhāra.“ Vor seiner Tätigkeit an der LMU hatte er eine Gastprofessur an der University of California at Berkeley inne. Seine Interessen reichen von buddhistischer Philologie und Epigraphie über die Entwicklung buddhistischer Hermeneutik, bis hin zu Sanskrit-Poesie, narrativer Literatur sowie der Geschichte des antiken Südasiens.

Michael von Brück (Religionswissenschaft)

Michael von Brück ist emeritierter Professor für Religionswissenschaft an der LMU-München. Er erforscht ein weites Spektrum an Themen: Unter anderem den Hinduismus, die Gelugpa-Tradition des tibetischen Buddhismus sowie den Chan/Zen-Buddhismus. Zudem engagiert er sich für den interreligiösen Dialog. Vor seiner Tätigkeit an der LMU war er Gastprofessor an der University of Madras und unterrichtete als Professor für Religionswissenschaft an der Universität Regensburg. Heute ist er Honorarprofessor an der Katholischen Privatuniversität Linz für Religionswissenschaft/Religionsästhetik. Neben seiner wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit ist er auch Zen- und Yogalehrer.

choi

Seongho Choi (Buddhismus-Studien)

Seongho Choi untersucht in seiner Doktorarbeit die Entwicklung der buddhistischen Hermeneutik. Seine derzeitige Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Verwendung bestimmter Begriffe, wie artha, nāma und prajñapti, in den meditativen Handbüchern des Yogācāra und früheren buddhistischen Traditionen. Bevor er im Jahr 2014 nach München kam, studierte Seongho Choi Soziologie (BA) und Philosophie (BA und MA) an der Seoul National University.

Franz-Karl Ehrhard (Tibetologie)

Als Professor für Tibetologie und Buddhismuskunde umfasst seine Forschungstätigkeit die Kulturgeschichte des tibetischen Buddhismus und Himalaya-Studien, mit Schwerpunkt auf tibetischen Manuskript-und Blockdrucktraditionen. Vor seiner Anstellung an der LMU war er am Lumbini International Research Institute in Nepal tätig und hatte Gastprofessoruren inne an der Universität Wien und an der Harvard University.

ess

Hans van Ess (Sinologie)

Hans van Ess ist Professor für Sinologie. Seine Forschung ist vor allem der chinesischen Philosophie gewidmet, insbesondere dem Konfuzianismus sowie dem religiösen Denken Chinas. Er unterrichtet zudem Seminare zum Buddhismus, wie beispielsweise zu Zongmi und zum Dasheng qixin lun. In den Jahren 2007-2009 hatte er die Position des Vizepräsidenten der LMU inne.

Silke Yasmin Fischer (Indologie)

Die Forschung und Lehre von Silke Yasmin Fischer konzentriert sich auf den Buddhismus in Sri Lanka, die Popularisierung des Buddhismus und des Hinduismus, sowie auf die Konstruktion von Meditation und Erleuchtung aus kulturwissenschaftlicher Perspektive. Ihrer Anstellung an der LMU ging eine Forschungstätigkeit in dem durch die Volkswagen-Stiftung finanzierten Projekt „Virtue in a Cross-Cultural Context“ voraus. Zudem lehrte sie an der German School in New Delhi.

Emanuela Garatti (Buddhismus-Studien)

Emanuela Garatti hat zwei Master-Titel erworben: 2012 schloss sie ihr Tibetologie-Studium an der INALCO ab, im selben Jahr machte sie ihren Master in Sinologie an der EPHE in Paris. Ihre Dissertation beschäftigt sich mit dem interkulturellen Austausch zwischen Tibet und China während der Kaiserzeit, im Besonderen mit den Paraphrasen und Übersetzungen tibetischer Manuskripte klassischer chinesischer Texte und dem Einfluss chinesischer Konzepte von Monarchie auf die Entwicklung des tibetischen Königtums. Zudem arbeitet Sie an einer kompletten Übersetzung des Cefu Yuangui über Tibet und die Ursprünge des tibetischen Reiches. Im Rahmen eines Cotutelle-Verfahrens wird sie ihren Doktortitel sowohl and der LMU, München als auch an der EPHE, Paris erwerben.

Hiromi Habata (Indologie)

Hiromi Habata ist gebürtige Japanerin und studierte an den Universitäten von Hokkaido und Freiburg. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte beinhalten buddhistisches Sanskrit, Manuskripte Zentralasiens und Methoden der Übersetzung buddhistischer Texte ins Chinesische und Tibetische. Sie ist Mitglied des British Library Sanskrit Fragments Project und arbeitet zurzeit an einer kritischen Edition und Analyse des Mahāparinirvāna-sūtra der Mahāyanisten.

Jens-Uwe Hartmann (Indologie)

Jens-Uwe Hartmann ist Professor für Indologie und beschäftigt sich mit literarischen Quellen in den Sprachen Sanskrit und Pāli. Sein Forschungsinteresse richtet sich vornehmlich auf die Wiedergewinnung der indisch-buddhistischen Literatur anhand von Manuskriptfunden aus Afghanistan, Pakistan und Zentralasien. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die kanonischen Werke der Schulen des älteren Buddhismus, ferner die Lehrreden des Mahāyāna sowie Werke buddhistischer Autoren aus dem Bereich der klassischen Kunstdichtung. Daneben beschäftigt er sich aber auch mit zeitgenössischen Entwicklungen des Buddhismus in Asien sowie der Buddhismus-Rezeption im Westen. Zurzeit ist er Forschungsdekan der Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften an der LMU.

 

Simone Heidegger (Japanologie)

Simone Heidegger ist Koordinatorin des Promotionsprogramms Buddhismus-Studien an der LMU. Ihre Forschung beschäftigt sich mit Geschlechterverhältnissen im japanischen Buddhismus, mit Reformbewegungen im japanischen Shin-Buddhismus und mit Ansätzen intrareligiöser Kritik. 2006 erschien ihre Dissertation über die aktuelle Diskussion von Geschlechterverhältnis und Diskriminierung im Shin-Buddhismus. Vor ihrer Anstellung an der LMU war Simone Heidegger wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Lehrbeauftragte in der Religionskundlichen Sammlung und im Fachgebiet Religionswissenschaft der Philipps-Universität Marburg.

Kinadeter_foto

Michael Kinadeter (Japanologie)

Michael Kinadeter schloss sein Studium der Japanologie an der LMU als Magister mit der hermeneutisch-philosophischen Analyse eines buddhistischen Quellentextes (T707) aus dem 4. Jahrhundert ab.
Die Schwerpunkte seiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit liegen auf den ostasiatischen Religionen (insbesondere Shinto und Buddhismus) sowie japanischer Geschichte. Neben seinem laufenden Dissertationsprojekt zur Überlieferung eines zentralen Madhyamika- und Sanlun-Werkes von China nach Japan und seiner dortigen Rezeption, arbeitet er seit 2010 als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Japan-Zentrum und seit 2015 für das Promotionsprogramm Buddhismusstudien.

 Jowita Kramer

Jowita Kramer (Buddhismus-Studien)

Der Schwerpunkt von Jowita Kramers Forschung liegt auf der buddhistischen Philosophie Indiens und Tibets unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Yogācāra-Tradition. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dem Themenkomplex Autorenschaft, Originalität und Intertextualität buddhistischer Kommentarliteratur sowie der biographischen Literatur Tibets. Nach Anstellungen an den Universitäten UC Berkeley, Oxford, Heidelberg und Göttingen ist sie derzeit als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der LMU tätig.

Martin Lehnert (Religion und Philosophie Ostasiens)

Martin Lehnert ist Professor für Religion und Philosophie Ostasiens. Seine Forschungsinteressen reichen vom esoterischen Buddhismus über die Rezeption sanskrit-buddhistischer Exegese in der chinesischen Kommentarliteratur bis hin zu Ritual, Musik und Ethik der vormodernen asiatischen Gesellschaften, sowie Gender und Religion. Vor seiner Anstellung an der LMU war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Ostasiatischen Seminar der Universität Zürich.

 Maurer

Petra Maurer (Tibetologie/Buddhismus-Studien)

Petra Maurer beschäftigt sich als Professorin für Tibetologie vor allem mit den Quellen des Schrifttibetischen. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Interessen reichen von den traditionellen tibetischen Wissenschaften über die Entwicklung des Buddhismus in Tibet bis hin zur modernen Kulturgeschichte und Sprache Tibets. Schwerpunkte ihrer Forschungen liegen u.a. auf der Geomantie als Teilgebiet der sino-tibetischen Divinationskalkulation, der Medizin sowie der modernen Geschichte Tibets. Als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin arbeitet sie am „Wörterbuch der tibetischen Schriftsprache“, einem Projekt der Kommission für zentral- und ostasiatische Studien der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Marc Nürnberger (Sinologie)

Marc Nürnbergers Forschungsinteresse konzentriert sich auf die Ideengeschichte des mittelalterlichen China mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf der chinesischen Kommentarliteratur und auf dem frühen chinesischen Chan-Buddhismus. 2008 erschien seine Übersetzung „Shitao: Aufgezeichnete Worte des Mönchs Bittermelone zur Malerei.“

Liudmila Olalde (Buddhismus-Studien)

Liudmila Olalde studierte Klassische Indologie und Deutsche Philologie an der Universität Heidelberg. Ihre Interessensgebiete umfassen buddhistische Literatur in Sanskrit, Pali und Tibetisch, vedische Literatur sowie das Erstellen von digitalen Editionen in indischen Sprachen. Für Ihre Dissertation bereitet sie eine Edition und Übersetzung von vier sūtras aus der Dīrghāgama-Handschrift vor. Zurzeit ist sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Fachinformationsdienst Asien an der Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg beschäftigt. Von 2013 bis 2017 war sie Koordinatorin des Projekts „SARIT: Enriching Digital Text Collections in Indology“ am Exzellenzcluster "Asia and Europe" der Universität Heidelberg.

Serena_bild

Serena Operetto (Buddhismus-Studien)

Serena Operetto schloss ihr Studium an der Universität Neapel "L´Orientale" ab, an der sie auch ein Praktikum am Zentrum für Buddhistische Studien absolvierte. Der Titel ihrer Dissertation lautet: „A research focused on Genshin’s Ichijō yōketsu, its influence on Japanese Medieval Buddhism and its place in the monastic milieu”. Ihr Interesse gilt vor allem dem Buddhismus des frühen und mittelalterlichen Japans.

pabstvonohain_constanze

Constanze Pabst von Ohain (Buddhismus-Studien)

Constanze Pabst von Ohain studierte Religionswissenschaft, Philosophie und Indologie an der LMU in München. In ihrer Dissertation beschäftigt sie sich mit Visualität und Visualisierungspraktiken in der frühen Literatur des Yogācāra-Buddhismus. Weitere Forschungsinteressen sind die Übersetzung und Rezeption des Buddhismus in der westlichen Philosophie und die Diskurse der Ästhetik in der Moderne.

website_foto4

Andrea Schlosser (Indologie)

Schwerpunktmäßig arbeitet Andrea Schlosser zur buddhistischen Literatur in indischen Sprachen, zu Schrifttraditionen und zum Zusammenhang zwischen Text und visueller Repräsentation. Gegenwärtig ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Projektes „Buddhistische Handschriften aus Gandhāra“ und forscht dort zu frühmahāyānistischen Texten, die in Gāndhārī verfasst sind. Ihre Dissertation beschäftigt sich mit der Edition einer dieser Handschriften. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit an der LMU arbeitete sie an der Digitalisierung von Sankrit-Fragmenten der Turfan Sammlung Berlin in Kooperation mit dem International Dunhuang Project in London.

 johannes-schneider

Johannes Schneider (Indologie)

Johannes Schneider ist Privatdozent für Indologie an der LMU-München.Er ist Mitarbeiter am "Wörterbuch der tibetischen Schriftsprache", einem Projekt der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Seine wissenschaftlichen Interessen reichen von der Sanskrit-Dichtung bis zum Tibetischen. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Forschung liegen auf Gebieten der indischen und tibetischen Philologie. In einem aktuellen Forschungsprojekt beschäftigt er sich mit Prajñāvarman's Devātiśayastotraṭīkā, einem Kommentar aus dem buddhistischen Kanon Tibets. Vor seiner Zeit an der LMU und der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften war er an der Philipps-Universität Marburg und an der Freien Universität Berlin tätig.

Gleb Sharygin (Buddhismus-Studien)

Gleb Sharygin studierte Philosophie, Religionswissenschaft, Religionspsychologie und altindische Sprachen an der Moscow State University sowie am Institute of Oriental Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow). Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen die Gedankenwelt des frühen Buddhismus, kanonische Literatur des alten Buddhismus, kontemplative Praktiken und ihre Entwicklung im alten Indien, sowie die gegenseitige Beeinflussung und das Zusammenspiel von Sprache, Praxis und Theorie, welche buddhistische Praktiken und ihre Konzepte formten. Derzeit arbeitet er an seiner Promotion “The Māyājāla-sūtra – a unique text of Early Buddhist Sanskrit Canon. Edition, translation and study” anhand der Gilgit Dīrgha-āgama Texte.

sirisawad_klein1

Natchapol Sirisawad (Buddhismus-Studien)

Natchapol Sirisawad erlangte seinen BA in Sprache und Literatur Thailands und seinen MA in Pali und Sanskrit and der Chulalongkorn University, Thailand. Seine Forschungsinteressen beinhalten buddhistische Pali- und Sanskrit-Literatur, indische Epigraphik und Paläographie und die Beziehung von Texten und visuellen Darstellungsformen. Er arbeitet zurzeit an seinem Dissertationsprojekt über literarische und visuelle Darstellungen des Mahāprātihāryasūtra in Indien und Südostasien.

Foto Tsou2

Yu-Sheng Tsou (Sinologie)

Yu-Sheng Tsou hat einen M.A. in Sinologie an der LMU absolviert. In seinem Dissertationsprojekt beschäftigt er sich damit, wie die Beziehung von Ritual zu Wissen, Realität und täglichem Leben im chinesischen und japanischen esoterischen Buddhismus konzipiert wurde, insbesondere im Kontext der prajñā-Praxis. Außerdem interessiert er sich für Poetik.

Klaus Vollmer (Japanologie)

Klaus Vollmer ist Professor für Japanologie an der LMU-München. Seine Interessensgebiete decken ein breites Feld innerhalb der Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte Japans ab. Ein Fokus seiner Forschungen liegt dabei auf der Formierung von kultureller Identität und Marginalität in der vormodernen und gegenwärtigen Gesellschaft Japans. Im Kontext von Untersuchungen zur Konstruktion von Normen und Werten beschäftigt er sich insbesondere mit Tabu- und Reinheitsvorstellungen und ihrer Verankerung in religiösen Traditionen. In diesem Zusammenhang hat er insbesondere zum Problem von Tötungsverbot und Fleischgenuss in der japanischen Vormoderne geforscht. Klaus Vollmer war Geschäftsführender Direktor des Departments für Asienstudien und Dekan der Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften. Darüber hinaus ist er der Initiator des Promotionsprogramms Buddhismus-Studien.

Wang Fang

Fang Wang (Buddhismus-Studien)

Fang Wang erwarb ihren M.A. 2013 an der Tsinghua Universität in Beijing. Ihr Forschungsinteresse bezieht sich schwerpunktmäßig auf Kunstgeschichte im alten Kucha. Gegenwärtig arbeitet sie an ihrer Dissertation über Darstellungen der Buddhalegende in den Wandmalereien der Treppenhöhle.

Isabella Würthner (Tibetologie)

Isabella Würthner schloss den Magisterstudiengang Tibetologie und Buddhismuskunde an der Universität Wien ab. Ihre Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf die Medizinliteratur, frühe Medizingeschichte sowie die Umgangssprache Tibets. In ihrem Dissertationsprojekt beschäftigt sie sich mit der kritischen Analyse und Übersetzung ausgewählter Medizintexte zum Thema Frauenheilkunde.

Minna Xi 1786 Minna Xi (Buddhismus-Studien)

Minna Xi erhielt ihren B.A. 2003 an der Technical University Harbin und ihren M.A. 2009 an der South China Normal University. Gegenwärtig arbeitet sie an ihrer Dissertation „Research on Life and Death Views of Han Area Pure Land Buddhism from the Perspective of Thanatology.“ Vor ihrer Forschungstätigkeit an der LMU war sie Beraterin an der South China Normal University.

yelle

Robert A. Yelle (Religionswissenschaft)

Robert Yelle ist Religionswissenschaftler und verwendet historische und theoretische Herangehensweisen, um Themen des Säkularismus und der Säkularisierung, der Religionssemiotik und der Beziehung von Religion zu Recht, Politik und Wirtschaft zu untersuchen. Er hat unter anderem über Mantras bzw. Verbalformeln in hinduistischen rituellen Tantra-Texten geforscht. Seit 2014 ist er Professor für Theorie und Methodik der Religionswissenschaft an der Fakultät für Philosophie, Wissenschaftstheorie und Religionswissenschaft.

Zhai_foto

Yunyao Zhai (Buddhismus-Studien)

Bevor Yunyao Zhai nach München kam, schloss sie ihren Bachelor und ihren ersten Master in Griechischen Studien ab, und erwarb einen weiteren Masterabschluss in Buddhistischen Studien. Ihr Forschungsinteresse gilt dem frühen Buddhismus und buddhistischen Schriften, insbesondere des Buddhismus in Gandhara und Übersetzungen des frühen chniesischen Buddhismus. In ihrer Dissertation erstellt sie eine kritische Studie über verschiedenen Fassungen des Bhadrakalpikasūtras, mit besonderem Fokus auf die chinesische Übersetzung von Dharmarakṣa aus dem 4. Jahrhundert n. Chr.

Monika Zin  (Indologie)

Monika Zin ist Professorin für die Indische Kunst. Sie studierte Literatur, Theaterwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte und Indologie in Krakau und München und unterrichtet seit 1994 an der LMU, zurzeit auch an der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie publizierte Werke zu narrativen und devotionalen Reliefs und Malereien in Süd,- Zentral- und Südostasien. Ihre laufenden Projekte beschäftigen sich mit Malereien in Kucha und Reliefs der Amaravati-Schule, darunter die des neuentdeckten Stūpa in Kanaganahalli.